I’m Excited to Enter the 21st Century

Technology Use, Southampton City College by jisc_infonet
cc flickr phot by jisc_infonet

Tomorrow is a very exciting day for me. It is the first day of school and I am very fortunate to be part of the iAcademy at my school, WJHS. The i stands for innovation because the classes will revolve around ideas that are fairly new to WJHS. We will use technology for creating, collaborating, and critical thinking (not to show boring PowerPoints). While this is not new to the world, it is new to me and thus gets me very excited.

The video below is one that most educators have seen and one that I was shown 2 years ago. When I watched it then it definitely made me think but I didn’t do anything about it. I wasn’t sure what to do and scared to try new ideas. Tuesday I am showing this video to my students because I am not afraid to tell them I plan to “Engage them”

At the beginning of summer I read, “21 Signs You’re a 21st Century Teacher” . The title of my blog post is inspired by Lisa Greathouse, @lisagreathouse on Twitter. When I read her blog post 2 months ago I think I could only safely say I have done 2 of the 21. This year I feel as if I am entering the 21st century and hope that next June I will be claiming many of the 21 signs as ideas I have tried in my classroom.

Author: schultzm24

I am a middle school math teacher, father of two, and huge Michigan sports fan.

Leave a comment